Reviews

Amit  September 2016

Hello Margaret,
We loved our stay, it was superb and relaxing .
We felt as if it was our home.
We loved every minute of our stay.
It was superb to stay here, close to Perth city,
great Indian restaurants nearby.


Adil September 2016

Hello Margaret,
We loved our stay, it was superb and relaxing .
We felt as if it was our home.
We loved every minute of our stay.
It was superb to stay here, close to Perth city,
great Indian restaurants nearby.

Adil

Metchell F.

Hi Margaret, What a lovely house you have here for us to settle into. Enjoying our first day here already. Thank you for allowing us to arrive so early from the airport as we have elderly family that have found the long night flight tiring…..

Metchell F. Malaysia September 2016

Wendy B. Broome

Thank you for making this property available on our frequent trips to Perth, it works everything there, extra bed linen, Foxtel, off street parking and great central location. We will be back in 6 weeks

Wendy B. Broome August 2016

Abdul R.K.

Wonderful house. Spacious space. Price is reasonable. Good for large group
All in all I would give 5 stars!........

Abdul R.K. July 2016

Nhida H.

The house is really convenient - near to the airport, a supermarket just down the street and a shopping centre (Woolworths, Kmart etc) in just less than 5mins drive. It is also fully equipped which we loved as we did a lot of cooking as well as got our laundry done. Toilet's light went off but Margaret got it fixed the next day. Wifi was a little slow but not an issue for us as we got data plans. Overall, We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here for our next visit!

Nhida H. Singapore June 2016

Keirron S

Our stay was excellent! Loved the well equipped kitchens! Perfect location for the wedding we were there for! Home away from home! Recommend to everyone!

Keirron S Melbourne December 2015

La L.

We went there on summer, so the air condition in every room really help. Margaret's home is beautiful and made you feel homey and comfortable. The area is strategic , it is very near to Belmont Forum where you can shop for groceries and there is also halal butcher for Muslim there. I love the open concept kitchen, it helps me to monitor the kids while preparing meals. We love to come back here again and highly recommend it.

La L. December 2015

Khirul A.

Our stay at the facility was a comfortable one. We were able to checkin earlier which we much appreciated as we arrived at 6am. All our queries were answered promptly before our stay hence we knew what to expect when we arrived. All information about keylock combinations were given earlier hence walking into the house, we felt immediately at home. The house was clean and we were able to settle down after the long flight in to Perth. There was even a box of milk in the fridge. There were some queries later about a wrong key lock combination but that was quickly resolved after we called Margaret. In all it was a pleasant stay.

Khirul A. Malaysia December 2015

Katie N.

Margaret was a very welcoming host, responded to all my queries before arrival. The house was equipped with absolutely everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Great location, highly recommended!

Katie N. October 2015

Sarah B.

Hi Margaret, The Boys loved the House & it was very Convenient for Work. Thanks again.

Sarah B. Sydney September 2015

Janan

We had a great three nights at Margarets. Her place was well maintained and offered so much more than just a BnB. Margaret was very kind to offer both me and my wife some of her home made coconut yogurt and desserts.

We cooked for two nights out of three and found ourselves spoilt for choice in terms of cooking spices (garden grown) and condiments. Add this to the fact that you have Margaret, it was truly a great and relaxing experience in Perth.

 


Emma

Margaret is the hostess with the mostess! So warm and welcoming and incredibly generous and helpful. The room was really modern and amenities were great! The only surprise for me was that there were long term lodgers sharing the accommodation (all of whom were really nice) and the room was more in a basement type scenario as there were no windows - albeit a wonderfully equipped and decorated basement type scenario! Really enjoyed my stay with Margaret - wonderful host!


So

Margaret proposes clean but small rooms. Friendly host, it is clearly a business (around 4 rooms renting in the basement). If like me you just need à bed this could suit you...


Melissa

Such a lovely warm lady, who received us into her cosy home. She made sure she had everything ready to accommodate us although we had told her the day before through some unfortunate events, we might not have been able to make it on time. She was so positive when we were only able to confirm at the last minute and she made a real good lassi to go with our breakfast. Thanks Margaret!


Maxime & Philippine

Margaret a etait une hote des plus remarquable , tres aimable , vraiment serviable du debut a la fin , bref je vous recommande Margaret , tout est au point .


Alan

We very much enjoyed our 6 night stay recently with Margaret in her very comfortable home. She made us very welcome from the start and was most helpful in every way. We found the bedroom well set up and convenient to the bathroom and well-equipped kitchen facilities. Margaret is a great host and we hope we can make a return visit one day soon.


Ee King

Margaret was a wonderful and delightful host! Her home was beautifully kept and we especially enjoyed her cooking and the lovely bathtub and spa! Thank you for a most comfortable and cosy stay!


John

Convenient, affordable and reasonably close to nearby beaches. Margaret went out of her way to make me welcome and provided great local knowledge to help me get my way around, especially using the public transport system.


Joy

Margaret is an ideal host - generous with her time, cheerful and very professional. The location was ideal for us, in delightful surroundings and her home provided us with everything thing we needed for our stay. Highly recommended.


Len

Margaret is a great host, thoughtful and made us feel very welcomed. Fabulous location. We would recommend staying at Margaret's.


Carmel

Margaret was very welcoming she has an amazing set up for her guests. We enjoyed staying in her home and chatting with her and the other guests.


Julia

We had a wonderful honeymoon with Margaret Fort, whose house we found on Airbnb. We had never tried a holiday staying at someone else's home, but if we had been asked to describe what we would have wanted out of such an experience, I suspect we would have described almost exactly what we ended up getting.
First, the mundane. The room we stayed in was cosy, but well-ventilated. It contained all the furniture and appliances one would expect to find in a hotel room (lights, drawers, wardrobe, water heater, coffee cups, glasses, coffee, tea, etc). We were free to use the kitchen and the washing machine. The location is in a quiet suburb which is so safe that most houses do not even have fences or gates. However, Glenelg Avenue is also close to the city (10-15 minutes' drive), the beach (5 minutes' drive) and the shopping centre at Innaloo (5 minutes' drive). The location strikes a perfect balance between serenity and convenience.
Second, the poetic. The view from the gazebo was magnificent. We spent some time every evening just sitting out there, soaking up beer and the ineffably beautiful sunset. The air was fresh and clear, and the stars were bright at night. I do not really have the words to do the setting justice, so I will leave it to the readers' imaginations.
Lastly and most importantly, the personal. If you would like a holiday experience that is unique and feels like having a home away from home, go with the Margaret Fort Experience. Her attention to detail was amazing, and it was the little touches that really made the stay memorable for us. For example, Margaret knew that it was our honeymoon, so she had gotten roses from her neighbour and put them in our room before we arrived. Obviously, she is not going to do the same things for every guest, so when I said your stay will be "unique", I did not mean that it would be different from every other hotel or rented apartment. I meant that it would be different from every other person's experience, even if they were also staying with Margaret.
The host herself is charming and helpful. You should definitely try to have conversations with Margaret if you are staying in her house. At the very least, she will give you good suggestions for places to go on your holiday. More likely, you will also gain many practical tips about cooking, homemaking, property and life itself. I am not exaggerating when I say that she has become an inspiration for us after our short stay with her. Seriously, (website hidden) her name and read her story.
In conclusion, I strongly recommend that if you are going to Perth and need a place to stay, staying with Margaret is one of the best options. The lady just has an enormous heart. If you are really lucky, she will even share some of her cooking with you and make your entire trip worthwhile.


Brett

Margaret was a great host and made us feel right at home. She let us help ourselves to her amazing fresh herb garden for cooking, and even drove us to the grocery store to do some shopping.

The house and rooms are very tidy, and the numerous guets she hosts at any given time make for a fun and lively atmosphere.

Great value, highly recomended. Thanks Margaret!


Naomi

Margaret's place was so much more than I expected. It is very a very comfortable and beautifully decorated home, that I felt very welcomed in. Margaret went out of her way to help in any way she could, she even left some delicious olive bread with fresh herbs and other special foods in case I was hungry, then put out my washing that had finished in the machine! I thoroughly enjoyed her company when we crossed paths, I will return whenever I'm visiting Perth. I highly recommend this place, you will love it!


Mark

It was so nice to go back to Margaret's
place where we stayed already earlier and are
satisfied with


Mark

We stayed one night at Margaret. The house is very nice and clean with a perfect location, very close to the bus stop and the beach. Margaret is very helpful and friendly, she was happy recommend us many things. We will be back soon.


Daniela

Margaret is a great host. She is very friendly lady. Showed us around and made first steps easy at this amazing continent. Thank you. We were very happy that we could be your guests. We hope to see you again.

 


Nuryasidah

Margaret is a very friendly & warm welcoming host!

Cosy and comfortable room. Nice, friendly company!

A trip worth a lifetime.


Verena

I had such a wonderful time staying with Margaret. She was a lovely host who was always so considerate and helpful. When I had a problem with my car, she helped me find a mechanic, and for my trip to Bali gave me the details of a lovely lady who showed me around the island.

The rooms are very clean and the house itself is just georgeous with a lovely outdoor area, a very spacious kitchen and numerous bathrooms to use. I had a great time and would recommend Margaret's place to anyone!


Terence

Margaret is very prompt, responsive and proactive to questions, requests and troubleshooting; which is very important to us when we are traveling.

Location is perfect! We thought being so close to the airport it might be noisy but we aren't within earshot of any flight paths at all. Also, we are 20 mins drive to practically everywhere nearby - King's Park, Fremantle, Cottesloe, Swan Valley, Subiaco etc

There are plenty of provisions which made the stay convenient for us. For instance, plenty of towels available which our family of 4 were able to use at the beach. Plenty of utensils, cutlery. A huge refrigerator and a huge and sharp TV with many channels available. Every room has their own TV as well. Plenty of wardrobe space with many hangers.

Just convenient!


Tracy

Margaret's place was as per the pictures shown! Her place had everything we need to cook, bake, microwave, wash, clean etc... Thank you for going the extra mile to buy a hair dryer for us even! Appreciate it heaps! Her maintenance guy (Franco) came with the new wifi password the very next day when my family was experiencing problems with the Internet. Prompt response and hassle free although we never met. It was as if she was there!


Adam

Margaret was great in helping me organise accomodation for myself and my parents at reasonably short notice. The accommodation provided was clean, comfortable and well thought out for people wanting an easy, affordable and safe place to stay.

Thanks


Lorri

Relaxing stay, nice break from our own home. It was Nice to sit back and relax with foxtel in air conditioned comfort. Great amenities, nothing needed - home away from home, with fully functional kitchen, comfy indoor and outdoor areas and a bonus - Fun to play with the Thermomix :) Margaret was a very accommodating host and nothing was too much trouble. Her knowledge was shared freely and her general helpfulness with everything was appreciated. Highly recommended as perfect for short stay.


Jenny

Myself and my fiancée had a lovely stay in Margaret's beautiful home. She provided everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. The room was beautifully furnished and Margaret was a treasure trove of local information, we would highly recommend staying here!


Martijn

Margaret is a great host - very helpful and accommodating!


Augustin

Simple house, good enough for 6 people to stay comfortably for a week; very convenient location, near airport, near well stocked supermarket - open on Xmas day AND boxing day! Owner was very helpful to sort out the last minute details and make our stay most comfortable. Recommended place if you are on a budget and looking for convenience over fancy views.


Andrea

We stayed in this lovely home for a month while our own home was being renovated along with our pet dogs & cats. Margaret was very accommodating of our schedule changes due to building delays and was welcoming of our pets. The home is small but with everything you would need for a long term stay and easy to keep clean. The backyard was secure for our dogs & had undercover patio for protection from the elements. The location is very central and just down the road from an IGA & several other shops & close to several parks & open spaces. There is bus stop just down the street that can take you to both the city & the airport. I would highly recommend both this property & Margaret for anyone travelling with (or without) pets. Many thanks Margaret!


Daniel

Margaret upgraded us to the 3 room apartment on the next street and provided everything we need to feel at home.
There was some issue with the rice cooker, she replaced it with a new one within a day.
Thank you Margaret. We will stay with you again should we be in Perth again! ;-)


John

Margaret was kind and welcoming. Made us feel welcome.


Michael

Margaret was super quick to reply to a very late notice request. She was very polite and welcoming. The room was just what I needed. Bed was comfortable with lovely linen. Kitchen was much more substantial that I expected. Outdoor area well appointed. Has Foxtel and wifi. The place suited me to a tee. Margaret was very flexible with the arrangement which was exactly what I needed at the time. This is my intro to Airbnb so the bar has been set high.


Nyanaveelan

Margaret is a very kind lady who has kept the place in a clean and tidy manner. The neighborhood is very quiet and the place is accessible to nearby supermarkets and eateries. The place was exactly the way described in the airbnb website. If you are keen on cooking and making your own food, this is a very good place as there is a microwave oven, cooking utensils, etc. There is also facilities to do your laundry. The backyard has an open space, large enough for a family to relax and unwind. Overall if given a chance, my family and I would like to rent this place again when we are in Perth.


Chia Lih

The home is really home sweet home. It even have an automatic light at the car porch area when you come back during the evenings. Everything you need was provided and it is as per the listing. One extra thing, you even get a lemon tree at the backyard! WIFI worked (website hidden) channels are sufficient. Perhaps the sofa is a little worn out and the dining chairs, a few of them may need some maintenance but I would have no issues to recommend this same home to any of my friends. Belmont is also a very good area. Supa IGA (supermarket) is just one road away and there are so many parks nearby. Nice ones too. Faulkner, Adachi and also Tomato Lake. Perhaps going to Fremantle takes a bit more time but Belmont is close enough to the airport for convenience. My experience with this home? Great!


Cheryl

Margaret was very friendly and easy to stay with. She is friendly without being invasive.


John

This was probably the most unpleasant accommodation that I have ever stayed in. The decor of property is very dated and the place seems to be furnished / equipped from op shops and garage sales - Stained,jaded and tatty.

I have stayed at many beautiful properties on airbnb at prices much less than was being asked for this property.
This does not come up to the standard expected from airbnb and is very overpriced for the standard of accommodation. I got out as soon as I could.

On balance, I would recommend that you stay away.


Bowei

Margaret's house was tidy and clean. All the other guests here are very friendly and helpful. Especially the long term guest Franco ,gave us lots of help and good tips to visit the city.


Rebecca

Such great customer service on a Sunday for a last minute booking, couldn't have been happier. Photos do not do this place justice, high standard of cleanliness, very homey, really stunning art and decoration, fabulous bedding. The outdoor lounge is such a novel space I loved it.


Gavin

Margaret was professional and most helpful with my booking, and was happy to field a phone call late on a Sunday afternoon to sort a pre travel issue I had before arriving on Monday.

The apartment was clean, well kept, spacious and comfortable. Being able to use a full size BBQ and enjoy the WA weather was a highlight, and we will be looking to stay again as soon as we come back!

Thanks for everything Margaret!


Daniel

Great location and good value.


Sebastian

a very nice and friendly place with a warm welcome, nice chats and a nice outside seating area. the room is clean and has everything you need.


Ian

Mary and her family of workers made our stay wonderful and special,must single out vince he could not do enough for us and so so funny he was a joy to know and i am now privaleged now him
best regards ian angi


Richie

Staying with Margaret was a delight. She made me feel very welcome and at home throughout my stay. Margaret's house and my room was very confortable, impeccably presented and homely, and provided a very welcome change from my normal diet of hotels. When I am in Perth in future, I shall stay nowhere else!

Upmarket Suburb close city beaches


Yuzhen

It was a great pleasure staying at margaret fort. Margaret is nice & helpful, always making sure that we are kept warm and cozy at her place. The place is clean & big, with a kitchenette for us to do some cooking. There's even a nice patio for us to chillout. There's also plenty of restaurants & supermarkets just minutes away. Will definitely recommend anyone there. Thanks Margaret! :)


Sherwin

Margaret is a really very nice and accommodating. She not only ensure that the place was clean and tidy but even took our situation into consideration and allowed for a slightly later check-out. With the location being close to the airport, it was definitely much easier for us to travel to the airport


Sabrina

We stayed in Margaret's beautiful home for four nights & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I cannot emphasise enough how welcomed we felt on arrival, Margaret has literally gone above & beyond to add the extra little touches from tea & coffee facilities in our room to 2 seperate gorgeous outdoor seating areas among numerous others. Not only were the facilities top notch but Margaret herself is one of the most helpful people I've ever met, she was full of local knowledge which was great for 2 newcomers to the area. We would definitely recommend this to any of our family & friends visiting Perth!!


Silvan

Margaret is a very helpful person. As we made a wrong booking and had to decide for an other apartment she was very loyal and understand full.


Sharleen

I was very impressed with my stay at Margaret's home. As soon as I entered, I was greeted at the door. Everything was thoroughly explained to me and my room very spacious with ample wardrobe space. Facilities were all available including the much needed Jet-Spa!
I couldn't have asked for a more quiet location and easily walking distance to the main road. Thank you Margaret for such a welcoming home.


Chuck

I booked this property for an approximate 3 week period while in Perth on business, as an alternative to a hotel. The property was exactly as i had expected, and as shown in the photos - in a great location with all the amenities I needed, easy access (check in / check out) and a great experience with Margaret, the owner / property manager. I'd definitely recommend this property!


Kath

Margaret is a great host her home is spacious, lots of spaces to relax in. Excellent position near beaches and easy access to freeways a lovely room and a very helpful host.


Jo

Margaret made her home my home, an extremely comfortable, welcoming and relaxed place to stay. Fantastic location close to the beach and really good bus routes to the city and Freemantle. Margaret was on hand for guidance and great chats, and shared her great cooking skills by feeding me too. Beautiful terrace with stunning sunsets. Thank you Margaret for making this a lovely place to stay, very much recommended to travellers to Perth.


Philip

We were very skeptical in the beginning with using Airbnb however our concerns were alleviated once we met Margaret. She was a delightful host and always greeted us with a smile. She was very hospitable and accomodated for our needs very well. She was very helpful when we were unsure about what to do in Perth and more often than not, would research some stuff for suggestions. She also went beyond as soon as she saw you might need help like when we had poor lighting in the patio, she searched for a spotlight so we can enjoy our chill time. She is very pleasant in nature and approachable which made it so easy to also spend time with her and chat. Undoubtedly we would return to stay with Margaret again upon our next visit to Perth. Thanks Margaret!


Eléonore

Margaret is a great host, no doubt about that ! Our room was perfect, as were the common areas. The bus doesn't come often in the area so having a car is a plus. Margaret offered to hire her old car so it made it easier for us to discover the surroundings. We had a great time in the outdoor lounges, they are really well decorated and the one upstairs has a great view ! Using the bbq every night was a pleasure as well.


Jakab

Staying with Margaret was wonderful and I thoroughly recommend it!

She’s extremely helpful and the others that stay there are very friendly!

Her house is close to the beach and convenient public transport that takes you straight to the city.

There is foxtel and all the other facilities to make your stay comfortable including some great areas to relax including a nice new gazebo with a lovely view :)

I’ve stayed at many Airbnb houses and this was easily the best so far!

I look forward to catching up with Margaret again for coffee as I have decided to move to this great city of Perth :)


David

Margaret is a wonderful person who is taking on the world by storm. She is very kind and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome, cared for and safe...and she has a lot of great advice about Perth. The apratmenr in South Perth is a short walk from many of the major attractions - Kings Park, Downtown via and ferry or over the bridge, the Zoo, Mends Street and lots more. Fantastic person and place! Perth is a jewel of a city to visit!


Sarah-Jane

The apartment is in a great location within a short walk to Mends Street with lots of Cafe's, free Wifi and the ferry to the CBD. The apartment itself is very clean, a great size and very well equiped. We made great use of the bbq on the patio most nights.

Margaret was a great host, we had a slight issue with the internet and Margaret was on hand to sort out straight away - even on a weekend!

A very enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend this apartment!

Thanks Margaret for all your help.


Nikki

Margaret's house was a dream come true. Excellent location, room was cozy and very clean - have full use of two kitchens, bathrooms and amazing upstairs deck complete with sun loungers and a lovely swing to watch the sunset. Other house mates were pleasant and friendly as well. Location was perfect - short walk to store, bus into city and to beach. Bus only tool about 30 minutes to CBD and easy to navigate. Above all Margaret was just an amazing host and such an interesting and inspiring woman - helpful,informative, friendly but also gave me plenty of "space"...she was wonderful to get to know and I am grateful to have stayed there. Highly recommend it for anyone looking for a great place to stay!!!
February 2013


D.J

Margaret is a fantastic host and treated me like family. My first day, I needed a haircut, but everywhere was closed. So, Margaret cut my hair for me! She's helped me find just about everything I need to get settled.